World Cup Nostalgics: 5 Latin Vibes Matches

Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay won a combined number of 9 World Cups. Beside of these teams, we saw a lot of Latin American passion at the history of the tournament and here are few of these moments.

1970, Peru – Bulgaria 3:2
A new name began to shine at this day, Teófilo Cubillas. At the 49th minute Bulgaria led 2:0 and it seems that they are on the way for an easy win. A minute later, the Peruvian started to score and it took only six minute to equalize the score. At the 73rd minute Cubillas scored his debut World Cup goal, a goal that gave Peru their first ever World Cup win.

1990, Colombia – West Germany 1:1
In 1990, after almost 30 years of absence, Colombia made a comeback to the World Cup with one of the most impressive squads the team ever had. Two minutes before the additional time, the Germans scored, but in the 93rd minute it was Freddy Rincón to score the equalizer. This goal was enough for Colombia to qualify for the knockout stage for the first time.

2010, Paraguay – Japan 0:0 (5:3 after PSO)
Paraguay had a team of fighters in 2010. They qualified for the knockout stage after a draw against Italy and win against Slovakia, all the way to the first place of the group. 120 minutes of goalless draw against Japan at the round of 16 ended with a perfect shootouts, when all the five Paraguayan shoots were scored. This win made Paraguay to reach the quarterfinals for the first time.

2014, Costa Rica – Uruguay 3:1
Before the World Cup, Costa Rica considered as minnows at the group of death. At the first match, Los Ticos showed that everyone can dream. A successful penalty of Edinson Cavani wasn't even a clue for the next minutes, while Joel Campbell, Óscar Duarte and Marco Ureña led Costa Rica to a sensational win. Later on, Costa Rica defeated also Italy and had a long journey ended at the quarterfinals only by penalty shootouts against Netherlands.

2014, Chile – Spain 2:0
Chile always has some tough time at the World Cup, until Jorge Sampaoli led the team to a magnificent run in 2014. Chile played against Spain at the Maracanã for a game that was a do or die for the reigning champions. Eduardo Vargas and Charles Aránguiz scored, Chile won and qualified for the next stage and made an early elimination for Spain.

Canceled or delayed flight? Check your compensation with BabaGol's new partner - AirHelpAirHelp is here to enforce your passenger rights and make sure you get your rightful compensation. Try it out HERE.